Program partners

The Prime Minister's Awards for Teaching Excellence and for Teaching Excellence in STEM are administered by Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada on behalf of the Prime Minister in partnership with Indigenous Services Canada.

Selection process

The program has recruited over 140 volunteer regional evaluators from teachers' federations, parent-teacher associations, post-secondary institutions, provincial and territorial education ministries, business organizations and student groups.

The program also has a National Advisory Committee (NAC) comprised of national level education organizations. NAC provides an oversight and advisory function. Committee organizations include:

  • Canadian Association of Principals
  • Canadian Education Association
  • Canadian Home and School Federation
  • Canadian School Boards Association
  • Canadian Teachers' Federation
  • Council of Ministers of Education, Canada
  • Fédération nationale des conseils scolaires francophones
  • Indigenous Services Canada
  • Ingenium — Canada's Museums of Science and Innovation
  • MediaSmarts
  • The Conference Board of Canada

Regional evaluators and National Advisory Committee members are all volunteers who give their valuable time and expertise at no cost to the program. The PMA program could not function without the generous support of our volunteer evaluators and committee members.

Regional evaluator organizations

Learning institutions




National and Provincial Organizations



British Columbia


New Brunswick

Newfoundland and Labrador

Northwest Territories

  • Northwest Territories Superintendent Association (no website)

Nova Scotia


Prince Edward Island