Diana Wang-Martin

Year: 2017 – Province: Ontario

Certificate of Achievement Recipient

Diana Wang-Martin

Glenforest Secondary School
3575 Fieldgate Drive
Mississauga, Ontario  L4X 2J6

Principal: Cheri Riddell
School telephone: 905-625-7731
School email: kathleen.meikle@peelsb.com
School website: schools.peelschools.org/sec/glenforest

Subjects and grades taught: Grade 11, Science and chemistry

Online simulations, 3D modelling, electronic probes and countless large and small scale conferences; Diana Wang-Martin stops at nothing to ensure the success of her students, working hard to inspire young girls to pursue STEM-related fields.

Teaching approach

Hands-on learning strategies and problem-solving activities have Wang-Martin's students involved in events, clubs and projects that have them reaching new heights they previously thought impossible.

Outstanding achievements

  • Wang-Martin formed a partnership with the University of Waterloo on a science venture that had students creating projects that were evaluated by University of Waterloo Science faculty members.
  • Wang-Martin spearheaded the school's STEM club. The group of 60 students has raised over $35,000 for the 2015 Xperience STEM conference for 1800 students and has raised almost 60,000$ for the Canadian Youth STEM Conference 2017. Sponsors have included Microsoft, GM, Siemens, NSERC and McMaster University.
  • Under Wang-Martin's guidance, students formed the Glenforest-Nahani Way Lego Robotics Mentorship program – a weekly program that has high school students mentoring their elementary school peers.

Rave reviews

"When we reached out to partner with local municipalities, Diana relentlessly advocated for our voices to be heard. And when we were low on morale, Diana would never cease to amaze me in how boundless her spirit was in achieving our goals."

Former student

"I am confident that Diana's students will be part of a research team that finds a cure [for] cancer, part of a team that will help solve the world's climate change problems, or recipients of a Nobel Prize."