National Holdings for Commercial Mobile Spectrum Licences

Current as of July 14, 2016

The following chart and table serve to demonstrate the distribution of major holdings for commercial mobile spectrum licences in the Cellular, Personal Communications Services (PCS) , Advanced Wireless Services (AWS), 700 MHz, 2500 MHz, 2300 MHz, AWS-3 and AWS-4 bands. In order to simplify this illustration, holdings are presented based on Tier 2 geographical service areas, and weighted by population using information from Statistics Canada's 2011 Census. The percentage of total holdings represents spectrum assigned to each entity in Canada and is regionally weighted by population of the assigned service areas.

This information is current as of July 14, 2016, and may be updated from time to time following major changes in spectrum holdings. However, if there is any discrepancy between this data and the data contained in the Spectrum Management System (SMS), the SMS data should be considered as valid up-to-date information.

Table 1 — Commercial Mobile Spectrum Licence Holdings in MHz
Tier #Service
2-01Newfoundland and Labrador15916912040203590633
2-02Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island1521721244010359010633
2-03New Brunswick166176106401035900.03623
2-04Eastern Quebec1241811761044083636
2-05Southern Quebec1221851821034040.47637
2-06Eastern Ontario and Outaouais121183178734020140.036634
2-07Northern Quebec1851221021204010359624
2-08Southern Ontario177198128304051423633
2-09Northern Ontario159161112401535760.0223620
2-13British Columbia11620618722405070.22629
2-14Yukon, Northwest Territories and Nunavut219106924050397608
National total weighted by population134188160434030129654632

Figure 1 — Share of National Commercial Mobile Spectrum Licence Holdings by Percentage
Bell* (21%)  Rogers* (30%)  TELUS (25%)  Vidéotron (7%)  TerreStar (6%)  Wind (5%)  Xplornet (2%)  Eastlink (1%)  SaskTel (1%)  MTS (1%)  Others (1%)  
 21 %30%25%7%6%5%2%1%1%1%1%

* Includes the entity and its affiliates.

Note: "Others" include members of the Independent Telecommunications Providers Association (ITPA), the Canadian Independent Telecommunications Association (CITA), and the Association des compagnies de téléphone du Québec inc. (ACTQ), Blue Canada Wireless Inc., BroadPoint International Telecom Inc., Canadian Spectrum Holding Corporation, CCI Wireless, Feenix Wireless Inc., Ice Wireless, i-MobileCa Inc., Lynx Mobility Inc., SSI Micro, Telehop, and YourLink Inc.