Francophone minority communities

French is the mother tongue of 6.8 million Canadians. This large Francophone community forms an integral component of the Canadian identity and contributes to its unique character. The vast majority of Francophones live in Quebec, the hub of Francophone culture in North America. However, close to a million Francophones form vibrant minority communities throughout Canada's other provinces and territories.

The Fédération des communautés francophones et acadienne du Canada (in French only) (FCFA) is the national and international representative of minority Francophone communities across Canada. It oversees many active groups and associations involved in the community, education and political advocacy.

The Réseau de développement économique et d'employabilité (RDÉE) maximizes the economic potential of Francophone and Acadian communities. Its mandate is to offer various services to these communities to create business ventures and long-term employment. There is a member organization in each province and territory where English is the majority language (therefore, not in Quebec). RDÉE organizations are partners of the National Committee of Economic Development and Employability (NCEDEE). They play a coordinating role and provide local leadership in the socioeconomic development of the minority community of their province or territory.

Data on official languages

Statistics Canada—Portraits of Official-Language Minorities in Canada

The Francophone and Acadian Community Profile of Canada, created by the FCFA from data collected in the 2006 Census, provides useful information about the francophone communities in Canada's 12 provinces and territories with an Anglophone majority.